The pre-Baroque chapel of the Hospital de la Venerable Orden Tercera has been a National Monument since 1969, for its unique beauty and decoration. The origin of this temple dates back to 1617, when the friars of the Franciscan Convent of Jesus and Mary decide to install a new chapel, independent of the convent grounds.
From 1623 they began to acquire and assemble the land for the future location of the chapel in the area now known as the Austrias district The new chapel was built between 1662 and 1668 by the master builder Marcos López, according to projections by the Jesuit Francisco Bautista and the painter and sculptor Sebastián de Herrera
The church has a single longitudinal nave, topped with barrel vaults and tapered lunettes, by a presbytery of Baida dome that houses the main altar and the whole thing is crowned with a dome on pendentives which rises to the height of the transept. Special mention for their fine canopy which displays the image of Cristo de Dolores, at the high altar, designed by Sebastian de Herrera himself and completed in 1664 by the carpenter Juan Echevarria Ursularre using for its composition, wood, jasper and marble .