The Lope de Vega House Museum, on Calle Cervantes, was built in the sixteenth century and purchased by the great writer of the Spanish Golden Age in 1610. He lived in it until he died, in 1635.
From Lope de Vega’s death to the nineteenth century, the house had a number of owners, who refurbished and renovated the building more than once. In fact, the original structure was no longer visible. When the Royal Academy of the Spanish Language bought the house in the 1930s, the building recovered the rooms that the famed writer used back in the seventeenth century. Currently, visitors can walk into the studio, the oratory he had built before he was ordained, and the back garden – ‘mi güertecillo,’ as Lope used to call it.
Some of the pieces of furniture and paintings in the house museum belonged to the writer. They were donated to a convent by one of Lope de Vega’s daughters. In addition, the house contains works of art, furniture, kitchenware and books on the former owner and his age.
The rooms and the theatre plays performed in the house in the summer recreate the spirit of Lope de Vega’s time and the ways of living in the Golden Age of Spanish art and literature. Visits to the museums are conducted by a 45-minute guided tour which take place every 30 minutes in Spanish, English and French. Advance booking required.