You are in:
  1. WHAT'S ON


Rafael Nadal. Winner 2013 Madrid Open


MUTUA MADRID open 2014

In 2014 Rafael Nadal and Serena Williams will return to Madrid to defend their title

For twelve years now, the clay court tournament has been drawing immense audience rates and bringing together the best players in the world; and it shows no sign of lowering its standards. Together with Roland Garros and Wimbledon, the Mutua Madrid Open is the only tournament in Europe in which both men and women play, and it boasts a truly spectacular venue, Dominique Perrault's stunning Caja Mágica.

André Agassi (2002), Juan Carlos Ferrero (2003), Marat Safin (2004), Rafael Nadal (2005, 2010 and 2013), Roger Federer (2006, 2009 and 2012), David Nalbandián (2007), Andy Murray (2008), Novak Djokovic (2011), Dinara Safina (2009), Aravane Rezai (2010), Petra Kvitova (2011) and Serena Williams (2012 and 2013). A look back at previous winners of the Mutua Madrid Open serves to demonstrate the high calibre of tennis Madrid has hosted over these last twelve years.

Caja Mágica © Dominique Perrault / Adagp

In 2014, it will once again aim to offer excellent tennis to a great audience, something which is practically guaranteed thanks to its place in the calendar (it is held in May, just before the Roland Garros, the grand slam on a clay court) and the impressive Caja Mágica.

The structure, designed by French architect Dominique Perrault, is one of the most unique and outstanding buildings in worldwide sport architecture.

Madrid's City of Tennis boasts three indoor/outdoor courts with a total seating capacity of 20,000 spectators (12,000, 5,000, 3,000), 16 outdoor courts, five indoor courts for 350 people each and six training courts. In addition, the Caja Mágica houses an indoor pool, the Madrid Tennis Federation HQ, a tennis school, a Clubhouse and a press centre.


The male tournament of the Mutua Madrid Open, whose prize money is 3,368,265 €, is part of the prestigious ATP World Tour Masters 1000 (formerly known as the Tennis Masters Series). The series consists of nine tournaments (Indian Wells, Miami, Monte Carlo, Roma, Madrid, Montreal, Cincinnati, Shanghai and Paris) that earn the players more ranking points than other tournaments (except the Four Grand Slam and the ATP World Tour Finals).

During the same period, Madrid hosts the female tournament, which together with Indian Wells, Cayo Vizcaíno and Beijing forms the Premier Mandatory category of the WTA Tour. The prize money is $ 5,137.962.

Serena Williams. Winner 2013 Madrid Open

MUTUA madrid Open

How to get there? Download a pdf file with detailed information